Overview & Scheduling

Your human ecology academic advisor strives for a high impact, relationship-based student experience to promote a sense of belonging, well-being, and academic success.

Why should I meet with an academic advisor?

  • Learn how to get into a human ecology major 
  • Set your academic goals 
  • Course selection 
  • Connect major to interests  
  • Interpret University and School of Human Ecology rules, regulations, and procedures 
  • Explore campus opportunities 
  • Discuss any challenges and difficulties 
  • Identify campus resources 
  • Form a relationship and get answers to your questions! 

Connect with your academic advisor

Schedule an appointment

School of Human Ecology advisors are available for questions and appointments via email, video chat, and phone. Continue to schedule regular appointments using the online Starfish tool in your MyUW portal or by emailing the office directly.

Appointment hours MondayFriday, 9 a.m.4 p.m. CST

Prepare for an advising appointment

  1. Review your Majors Curriculum Checksheet
  2. Login to your UW DARS (Degree Audit Report) to view academic process; view directions here: Start the DARS audit request process
  3. Make a list of questions and topics you’d like to cover
  4. Review how to prepare here: Advising 101

Schedule a drop-in advising session

We offer drop-in advising in person, video chat, and phone:

Fall 2023 Drop-In Hours will begin at the start of the fall semester. Check back later for drop-in times. 

The SoHE Drop-In Advising Form will open 10-15 minutes before each drop-in session begins, and it will close at the end of the session.

If you are unable to access Google/Google Forms, please email advising@sohe.wisc.edu with your Campus ID and if you would like to receive Academic or Career advising. Your information will be promptly added to the drop-in queue and you will be contacted by an advisor via email when they are available to meet.

Academic Advising Team

Amy Bertrand

Credentials: Advising Team Lead

Email: albertrand@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-265-2365

Address:
1194F Advising & Career Center

Kristin Armstrong

Credentials: Academic Advisor

Email: kristin.armstrong@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-262-2608

Address:
1194G Advising & Career Center

Sara Her

Credentials: Academic Advisor

Email: sara.her@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-263-9353

Address:
1194J Advising & Career Center

Emily Keepman

Credentials: Academic Advisor

Email: ekeepman@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-263-2381

Address:
1194D Advising & Career Center

Dillon Wright

Credentials: Academic Advisor

Email: djwright4@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-890-3324

Address:
1194H Advising & Career Center

Alex Sowieja

Credentials: Academic Advisor

Email: asowieja@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-890-4791

Address:
1194C Advising & Career Center